The Wedding Of His Dreams

Happy moment from my 2004 Wedding.

Happy moment from my 2004 Wedding.

It was the night before my wedding in Jamaica, in the church where the ceremony would be held the next day, the wedding party, pastor and decorator were all up in arms over a thousand different things. Which door would the bridesmaids walk through, was there enough time to change the decorations from balloons’ to fresh flowers, the list of hassles went on.  A few times throughout the night I stepped back to wonder how I had gotten roped into this, not the marriage but the wedding, it just seemed like an expensive, time-consuming farce.  I was having cold feet, specifically about the wedding red-tape.  If I plan an event, it has be uncomplicated, life is crazy enough as it is, to invite more problems makes no sense to me.  But what could I do, guests were on the way from all over Jamaica, some were even coming from the States, my maid of honor had come all the way from England.  This thing was going down, full of complexities, with our without my full enthusiasm.  When my husband proposed to me I immediately counter-proposed that we elope, the thought was absolutely thrilling to me but not to my fiancée Rohan, he was appalled and offended and wondered out loud what his family would say about that idea.  He spent the next few months talking me into the wedding of his dreams, finally I realized even though I had never dreamed of a wedding, he had, it wasn’t right for me to deny him its fulfillment, so we went full steam ahead.  My biggest fear about the wedding was that it would be obvious that we were operating on a shoe-string budget but I need not have worried, things worked out, friends and family helped and everything turned out more beautiful than I could have imagined with one exception, the cake was a hot, tacky mess but I was the only person bothered by it.

The morning of the big day my maid of honor and I found ourselves at the printers, rushing to get the wedding programs done.  Panic was setting in as the time flew by.  By the time I got back to the hotel, showered, did my hair, put on make-up and finally my gown I was almost an hour late for the church.  Thank God my maid of honor Nike was keeping things light-hearted and reminding me that everything was ok.  I had asked my mom to give me away but at the last minute she suggested I ask my brother and uncle to each walk me half way as they are two of the few men in my life.  By the time I was walking down the aisle with my brother he was whispering to me that our dad should have been the one giving me away, if I really had a dad who cared about me that might have been a touching moment but I felt I was better off not having that stranger at this intimate affair.  The service was long, Pentecostal style, exactly the opposite of  what I had discussed with the pastor, but it was pretty, the guests were attentive and emotional and later that day my husband and I and the wedding party walked into the open air reception at the water’s edge in Montego Bay, just as the sun was setting.  My aunt and the decorator had set back up the arch from the church, its ribbons were floating imperceptibly in the warm, salty breeze.  I peeked at my husband, he was smiling from ear to ear and everything, all the drama was worth it.

As the night went on, various things went wrong but no one knew, I heard over and over again how beautiful a wedding it was.  After the speeches relatives kept teasing me that they never knew I had it in me to either get married or to talk with such ease in front of a group.

Two years later the marriage was over, I found out about his multiple infidelities in one day,  it was crushing but I never regretted the marriage, just the way it ended.  For the first time in my life I had followed my heart and it led me to this short marriage that was only meant to exist for a season.  The lessons that came from that experience are many and profound: how to love, how to share, how to lose with grace, how not to lose yourself in the fray, how to hold the special memories apart from the ugly ones and how to be strong when you know you’re right. New Years of 2006 was the last time I saw my husband.  I channeled my anger into going back to University at the age of 39, and graduated from the fashion design course with honors.  I silently thanked my husband for giving me that push and sometimes even imagined him being married again; having babies and hoping that he had learned something from what happened between us.

In late October of 2009 found out that Rohan had been killed almost a year prior, after the shock wore off the first thing I thought was that at least he had had the wedding of his dreams and thank God I had been there to witness it.

When I was planning my wedding I didn’t invite my father, it was deliberate but not vindictive, I just don’t know him very well nor do I think very highly of what I do know of him.  It was more and issue of quality control than anything else, him being an unknown quantity whose presence could possibly ruin the event.  Looking back I still think it was the right thing to do.  In thinking about how much I’m willing to give away for the comfort of others as opposed to my own, I never have that dilemma when it comes on to my father, I’m clear that I must put myself before him to protect myself from his immense selfishness.  Having said that, it was still a surprise to learn that after hearing about my wedding from his older brother and being asked by the same if he was going to attend, my father was crushed to learn that not only was I getting married without his knowledge, but I had no intention of inviting him and it was not an oversight.

In the end I understand that I had the strength to leave my husband when I found out about his infidelities because my whole life I have never wanted to end up with a cheater like my father, so I guess I should silently thank my dad for that.

About dawnhewitt1

I am an aspiring world traveler and writer, a certified Health Coach and I have a degree in Fashion Design that I received at age 42. I have a quirky perspective on life and hope to shine a light on the darkness of depression. At 46 years old I am just starting to see myself as having a future, like showing up at a party when it’s halfway over. I’m learning to forgive and move on, learning the lessons of the December butterfly and late blooming flowers, that it’s never too late to start living life beautifully.
This entry was posted in Self-doubt. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Wedding Of His Dreams

  1. I remember so clearly yoursaying that you had no regrets over your marriage…I was so happy for you and proud of you for that statement. Josephine Baker said it fabulously in French ” je ne regret pas” – i regret nothing. Thank you for sharing your wedding story, much of which I knew little about. I am grateful for your heart and courage in sharing your lifes lessons with the world. You, my friend, have a story worth telling.

    • dawnhewitt1 says:

      Thank you so much LIsha for taking the time to read and comment, your encouragement is invaluable as I get my feet wet in the world of blogging. Yes I can can truly say that I would never change that experience for anything, I can still see him smiling at me at the altar.

  2. Christopher Stewart says:

    This compelling and intimate tale of life changing events that happened in your life is exactly the world needs to hear. Indeed a story worth telling. A story of sadness and triumph. I’m quite sure this shall encourage others who are in similar situations.
    I’m happy to have you in my life. Your a very special individual and you have a lot to give the world. May your legacy continue!

    • dawnhewitt1 says:

      Thanks so much Christopher for your encouraging words, really value your opinion so this means so much to me!! I am also glad to have you in my life, you are a great cousin and a fabulous friend, luv you.

  3. WileE116 says:

    Thanks for posting this. I very much like the conclusion of your post the most. it’s nice to know one can reflect on their past with a clear mind and a light weight heart.

  4. Ida says:

    Great story, full of emotions, joy, fear, sadness, hope, disapointment, sacrifice,love and heart break.This would make a great book.

    • dawnhewitt1 says:

      Oh wow, thanks so much for taking the time to read this and for those very encouraging words. I do have dreams of putting all my essays and short stories together to make a book so your feedback is wonderful for me!

  5. This was a very touching & heart felt story. I’m glad you both were able to have this moment of wedded bliss. Even though things turned out differently than you expected, it allowed you to tap into yourself & pull something out of your soul & move you in another positive direction. When I talk to you, I see a very strong women who is forging thru all the obstacles in her life who is still growing.

    • dawnhewitt1 says:

      Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment Keisha. You are such a sweet friend, your words are very encouraging as always. Remember that New Years Resolution I made the in 2012? I’m finally working on my writing!! 🙂

  6. You’re welcome & that is GOOD NEWS, you are a talented writer & deserve to have a platform to share your words of wisdom!

  7. Keisha Clay says:

    This is true! 🙂

Leave a comment