The Stutterer Moves On…

“And don’t condescend to me, take your leave, take your leave, take your leave of me… Disappear, through the air,  I wish you gone and I don’t care…”

Stevie Nicks ~ The Planets of the Universe 

Image

I was a very odd child, I had a lisp and a stutter; I was too tall, too skinny, so awkward that even a kind look in my direction could bring me to tears, I was ambidextrous,  clumsy, ate too slowly and suffered from headaches and nosebleeds and needed braces on my teeth.  Not exactly the perfect Jamaican child that my parents wanted.

I was also an artist, drawing was one of the few things that made me feel good about myself and my life, one of my teachers even wanted to enter me into an art competition, until the day another one of my teachers noticed I was writing with my left hand.  By the end of the day she handed me a note for my parents to sign and return to her.  When I got home and showed the note to my mother, I learned that I would no longer be allowed to use my left hand.  That’s the day I stopped drawing and began to hate writing.

My family doesn’t seem to remember that I had a serious speech impediment back then, but when I was little having both a lisp and a stutter made me stand out for all the wrong reasons.  The lisp combined with my Jamaican accent was bad enough but when I started to stutter, that was like the end of the world to me.  Even at the young age of 6 I knew the stutter came from fear and the more stressed out and worried I was, the more my tongue would get twisted in my mouth.  I used to console myself with the thought that I didn’t want to talk anyway, didn’t want to be noticed, invisibility being easier.  Home was a scary place and school was like a foreign country, I was very rarely happy and my poor tongue paid the price.  I was pulled out of class one day and walked to a janitorial closet.  Inside were stuffed 4 student desks and a chair for teacher.  This little dungeon was where elocution classes were to be held.  I would repeat tongue twisters all day until my speech became acceptable.  Funny thing about this class was that I was the only one who was there for speech therapy, the other kids were in some form of detention and they found my little problem very entertaining.  I can’t remember how long the class went on but I know by the time it was over I could speak without stuttering and I no longer had a lisp or a Jamaican accent.  I had given up my cultural identity in exchange for un-stilted speech, which made me even more of a misfit around Jamaicans; I no longer had a speech impediment but now I was labeled “American” which was not meant as a compliment.

This drove me further inward and made me more conscious of the fact that I didn’t fit in anywhere.  I was born in Jamaica but apparently that was just a place I went to in the summer that I had no right to call home.  Luckily I grew up in Astoria, Queens, a mostly Greek neighborhood, where I observed Greek kids my age, some  of whom had never even been to their country, nonchalantly claiming their heritage and it occurred to me that I had that right too.  An elderly teacher’s aid in my class used to pull me into the hallway and tell me that she hated “immigrants and blacks” and I just couldn’t figure out why I was the object of her contempt.  All throughout my school years and into my working life I was constantly being scolded that I shouldn’t call myself Jamaican because I had no Jamaican accent.  I finally started to understand that being both black and an immigrant is too much for some people to comprehend unless you’re kissing your teeth and speaking patois.  Meanwhile almost every time I find myself speaking more than a couple of minutes I’m reminded that there’s a skinny, awkward, stutter inside who can take over at any moment.

Thank God in the years since that janitor’s closet I’ve only gotten tongue tied a handful of times which has helped me keep my stutter a kind of secret.  On other occasions when I am called to speak in front of a group in my capacity as a health coach, there were times I started out weepy, emotional and sweaty, until I make it through the first couple of sentences and then I’m able to breathe… and to shake off the memories.

About dawnhewitt1

I am an aspiring world traveler and writer, a certified Health Coach and I have a degree in Fashion Design that I received at age 42. I have a quirky perspective on life and hope to shine a light on the darkness of depression. At 46 years old I am just starting to see myself as having a future, like showing up at a party when it’s halfway over. I’m learning to forgive and move on, learning the lessons of the December butterfly and late blooming flowers, that it’s never too late to start living life beautifully.
This entry was posted in Self-doubt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Stutterer Moves On…

  1. Christopher Stewart says:

    I can TOTALLY relate to this. I had a severe stuttering problem when I was little and my classmates found it entertaining. Luckily my best friend at the time had the same impedement so it made it a little easier to cope with. I haven’t grown out of it entirely but I’m able to mask it or catch myself if I feel it coming on lol. Idk cuz maybe its in the blood haha. Anyway another compelling story! Stay strong!

    • Dawn Hewitt says:

      Wow, cuz!!! No wonder we get along so well!!! Learning how to catch yourself before stuttering takes set is a sign that you’ve come a long, long way, when I was little I used to feel like I was having a fit when it would happen, it was kind of frightening, one of the things I learned while repeating “Sally sells seashells by the seashore” was how to slow down on the words that gave me trouble, that was huge for me. No wonder you have such compassion Christopher!! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, as always your support means so much. ::)

  2. Dawn, I had no idea..the depth and breadth of your story. Confusing, hurtful, identity shaking experiences. Thank you for sharing it all with me. I don’t take it lightly that you consider me a confidante and am blessed to see you bloom.

    • dawnhewitt1 says:

      Awww Lisha, you are a wonderful friend and confidante, we are getting to know each other better now, I really treasure that. Thanks for encouraging me to blog, its very therapeutic. Luv u Lisha.

  3. Your story is very inspiring to a young child currently experiencing the same feelings right now. Childhood can be a very awkward moment for some & can set you on a positive or destructive path into adulthood. You had DETERMINATION to overcome your stuttering & the lisp; you conquered both. I would have never known you had either unless you told me. This was an infallible accomplishment!

    • Dawn Hewitt says:

      Awww thanks Keisha!!! Its so funny, at the time I felt like that elocution class was an embarrassment and a punishment but it really helped me after all. I thank God that I was in NYC public schools in that pivotal moment of my life, never thought about it before I posted this. Thanks for the encouraging words by friend, your support is so important to me!!

Leave a comment